Planning & Land Use Committee

Providing an innovative forum for all community
stakeholders to contribute to a healthy,
vibrant, and inclusive Downtown.
Downtown LA Neighborhood Council

Planning & Land Use Committee

Chair: Ryan Afari

Members: Audrey von Ahrens (Stakeholder), Patti Berman, Samir Bitar, Tyler Murphy, Simon Ha (Stakeholder), Cody Nowak, Reeyan Raynes (Stakeholder), Jim Sarratori, John Swartz (Stakeholder), and Tonja- Boykin (Stakeholder)

The Planning & Land Use Committee focuses on the broad variety of planning issues such as reviewing and approving liquor and cannabis licenses, major entitlement filings for large developments, and zoning changes. The Committee facilitates and provides a forum for public discussion and input on individual projects and general policy decisions re-shaping Downtown’s landscape. Our goal is to encourage innovative and responsible land use planning that improves Downtown for all current and future stakeholders, including residents, businesses, workers, and the City as a whole. We recognize that the redevelopment of Downtown has both social and economic impacts, and that the on-going transformation of our metropolis is occurring against the background of cultural and historic resources that must be preserved. Our guiding principles encourage excellent architecture and design that is sustainable, transit-oriented, pedestrian-friendly, and compatible with existing and developing uses in the many neighborhoods that make up Downtown.

In compliance with Government Code section 54954.2(a), Neighborhood Council agendas are posted for public review at the Department of Recreation & Parks – Pershing Square Office, 532 S. Olive and at You can also receive our agendas via email by subscribing to L.A. City’s Early Notification System, linked here.